Aimee's Journey @New York

Seattle You are so Beautiful

1 Comment

All the fancy I have about Seattle is coming from a movie – Sleepless in Seattle, which tells a romantic love story. Last year, a movie called Finding Mr. Right (alias Beijing Meets Seattle) was released in China, which also tells a romantic love story. Seattle becomes a rosy city to me, full of romantic possibilities. On this Easter, I was so happy to go to Seattle, the ideal city in my mind!

Day 1

It was noon when we arrived in Seattle. The first stop was Pike place market, a place that often appeared in the movie Sleepless in Seattle. We had a sea food feast! The oysters were so fresh that it had the smell of sea. The crabs was so inviting because I hadn’t eat it since I came to New York, which was almost a year. Also, the local beer was a must try, and it did not let us down.

Image  Image

After enjoying the dishes, we wandered around the market, seeing the exciting shows of fish sellers. I was curious about why many women held a basket of flowers on the road, and as soon as I saw a row of fresh tulips, which were red, purple, orange, yellow, combining a beautiful ocean of flowers, I understood. As the old saying goes, “Do in Rome as Rome does,” I took a basket full of tulip buds to hotel and put it besides the window. When the trip ended, the tulips blossomed under the sunshine. Accidently, we bumped into the first Starbucks! It had the ancient logo and unique coffee beans were available. Do you know there’s a secret menu in Starbucks? I ordered one called Grasshooper Frappuccino.

Image   Image

When the night falls, we went to Space Needle, the symbol of Seattle, where visitors can overlook the scenery of whole Seattle. Also, as two foodies, we had a hearty dinner at the Sky flyer restaurant, which was also revolving. I felt so wonderful to enjoy the charming night scene and yummy meals together.

Day 2

If you are crazy about music, you will love the EMP (Experience Music Projects), which brings you to experience music world. I was shocked by the rich Jazz history and the collection of guitars. I tried to be a drummer, a keyboard player, and a singer in individual music rooms. Besides music, there was a rest area for kids to build Lego houses in the palace of world skyscraper. We sat at the kid table and built two avant houses. I felt carefree and innocent, like I was back to my childhood.

Image   Image

Spring was the season to view cherry blossoms! How could we miss it? In the afternoon, we went to the University of Washington to look for cherry blossoms. It started to rain on the way. It didn’t lower our mood but adding some poetry to the city. When we arrived at the UW, the rain stopped, and the campus looked more beautiful after rain. Walking along several twisted roads, we came to a straight wide road, and the cherry blossoms showed up!

Image   Image

Day 3

Our destination was Olympic National Park! It was a nature exploring day! We got up very early, at 6a.m., to take the ferry, and then drive by our own. It took three hours to get there, but the extraordinary nature scene deserved it.

We drove to the snow mountains first. All the trees were covered with snow, which were like the wonderland in Frozen. I felt freezing, but the snow expelled all my sleepiness away as well. Then we went to the rain forest, where I saw various plants, trees that I could not recognize, and deer, a beast, and an elk! This was my first time to see an elk, so I approached it very carefully, and saw it drinking water from the brook and shaking its head. So cute!

Image   Image   Image

Day 4

Seattle met all my expectations. But just as the two movies, the hero and heroine left Seattle and met in the Empire Building in New York, it is my time to go back to New York and dive into finals!

One thought on “Seattle You are so Beautiful

  1. Great! I went to Seattle too on spring break, why don’t we come across? What a pity! Haha! The most part what impress on me is Seattle’ pure blue sky. That was awesome! It is much better than New York, let alone Beijing. I am sure you know what I mean. Did you go to crab pot which nearby Pike Market? I loved it! There seafood was cheap and fresh! How I wish I could enjoy it everyday. The bloom in University of Washington was amazing too, except there were too many tourists. I wish I could take a picture which only including bloom, however it’s impossible. Although Seattle is pretty great, I would like to say that I like New York more. As a foodie, Seattle is a little boring. But it’s really a nice place for our parents to enjoy their sunset life.

Leave a Reply

