Aimee's Journey @New York

Serendipity

3 Comments

The first time when I met the word “serendipity” was when I was preparing the GRE test, and the dictionary gave such a definition: good luck in making unexpected and fortunate discoveries. After doing some research, I found it was created by Horace Walpole in 1754 in a letter he wrote to a friend to explain an unexpected discovery in a Persian fairy tale, The Three Princes of Serendip. Also, the word has been selected as one of the ten hardest to translate English words by a British translation company. I thought it as an interesting word.

The second time I saw the word was when I bumped into a movie called “serendipity” two years ago. Without any doubt, I watched the movie. It is a romantic film, telling a story that two young people, Jonathan and Sara, fall in love with each other when getting the last pair of black gloves at Bloomingdale’s during the Christmas crazy shopping season. As both of them are involved in relationships, they say goodbye to each other after eating ice cream at Serendipity 3. However, coincidence one after another happens on them, making them meet each other again and again and feeling the increasing love for each other. Before the wedding, Sara decides not to attend and Jonathan found her. Finally, fate brings them together. On their anniversary, they come to Bloomingdale’s, the same spot where they first met, enjoying champagne. Happy ending!

I always thought that the ice cream store Serendipity 3 was fictional, until I saw it on 60th street! I was so exciting and found it was so popular that many people were waiting outside for a seat to have a taste, and it was in freezing winter, 11p.m.! I listed the Serendipity 3 on my must-try restaurants in my mind, and imagining the taste of the fabulous ice cream.

Yesterday, I stepped into Serendipity 3, eventually! The stained glass light, the decorated mirror, all the design was romantic and fairylandy. The scenes in the movie went to my mind and made me feel sweet. Tony and I ordered “Cannot Say No Sundae” and “Broadway Forbidden Sundae.” When the cute waiter brought them on our desk, my eyes were gleaming because they were the biggest ice cream I had ever seen, and there were so many chocolate on the top. I could not wait to pick the spoon to have a try. So sweet! So delicious! So happy!

Image

3 thoughts on “Serendipity

  1. Serendipity, such a complex word! I remember my first time learning the word was during a linguistics class at college. One of the students was taking about the philosophy of creative writing. She defined this word by using an example: If you were walking on a street at Las Vegas on a windy day, a raffle saying 2 vegas night shows was blown and stick on your face by the wind. When you are surprising the unbelievable-ness, you look ahead and your Mr Right was walking towards you. You were thinking about stopping him to go the show together….Day dream, right? But that’s serendipity! haha~ By the way, let’s definitely go to serendipity 3 during summer break! love it:)))

Leave a Reply

